Citizens Crime Commission of New York City

A non-partisan non-profit organization working to make criminal justice
and public safety policies and practices more effective through innovation,
research, and education.

November 2, 2011

Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award
The Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award recognizes pioneering leadership in the field of criminal justice. The award honors the history of the Crime Commission as it traces its roots back to the late 1800s, when the New York Society for the Prevention of Crime helped bring down Tammany Hall and install Theodore Roosevelt as president of the New York City Board of Police Commissioners.

Our inaugural honoree, New York State Attorney General Eric T. Schneiderman, epitomizes that notion as an outstanding advocate for reforms aligned with the Crime Commission's mission: common-sense gun safety legislation, expanding the use of DNA in crime-fighting, and preventing wrongful convictions.

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award is reserved for individuals who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to criminal justice innovation.

The 2011 honorees, Gary Beller and J. Brendan Ryan, have served on the Crime Commission's Board of Directors for over 25 years each. Their vision for criminal justice reform has been the bedrock of the organization.

212-608-4700  · ©2022 Citizens Crime Commission of New York City